Attack Type is important in determining the items and gear that improve each class. Attack Type is also known as Combat Type and can be seen in your character UI.


View Class Attack Type:

My Information (P) → Battle Stats → Combat Type


Attack Type Based Upon Skills:

The Attack Type of a class does not change, even if it looks like a particular skill is unusual for that class.

For example, a Ranger that does a skill that looks like it’s melee and close to the enemy.


Attack Types in Succession vs Awakening:

Class Attack Type also does NOT change based upon Succession or Awakening.

BDO Attack Type

Melee Attack

  • Warrior
  • Guardian
  • Lahn
  • Berserker
  • Shai
  • Striker
  • Musa
  • Maehwa
  • Mystic
  • Valkyrie
  • Kunoichi
  • Ninja
  • Nova
  • Corsair
  • Drakania

Magic Attack

  • Hashashin
  • Sorceress
  • Tamer
  • Dark Knight
  • Wizard
  • Witch
  • Sage
  • Woosa
  • Maegu

Ranged Attack

  • Ranger
  • Archer

Attack Type Example

Which Artifacts should I use for a Guardian?


Because Guardian is considered as having a Melee Attack (Melee Combat), she could choose any of the following for attack purposes:


  • Marsh’s Artifact – Melee Attack (+4 Melee Attack)
  • Marsh’s Artifact – Melee Accuracy (+8 Melee Accuracy)
  • Fire Lightstone: Fury item effect benefits all attack types (All Attack +2)

Sources & Additional Info